Have a Question?
Table of Contents
< All Topics

Youth Mobility Scheme – Tier 5

The Youth Mobility Scheme (YMS) is designed for young people from participating countries who would like to experience life in the UK for up to 2 years. Under the youth mobility scheme, your national government acts as your sponsor.

Currently, only citizens of the following countries are eligible to participate in the Youth Mobility Scheme:

  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Japan
  • New Zealand

Eligibility criteria

To qualify for entry to the UK under the Youth Mobility Scheme you must score a total of 50 points across the sponsorship, age and maintenance categories.

  • Sponsorship – under the youth mobility scheme your national government acts as your sponsor, therefore you will score 30 points if you are a citizen of one of the participating countries outlined above.
  • Age – you can claim 10 points if you are between the ages of 18 and 31 years of age. Please note that you must be under the age of 31 on the date your application is made.
  • Maintenance – you can claim 10 points showing that you have at least £1600 that you can use to support yourself while in the United Kingdom. This amount must be held in a personal bank account on the date of your application for entry clearance.

Additional information

You should note that you are not entitled to switch from the Youth Mobility Scheme into another UK visa category, and there is no provision available for you to extend your stay in the UK beyond the 2 year period granted in accordance with the Youth Mobility Scheme.

You must not have any children under the age of 18 who are either living with you or for whom you are financially responsible. If you are married or have a partner you may participate in the YMS, although your spouse or partner cannot enter the United Kingdom as your dependants, they may only enter if they qualify and obtain entry clearance in their own right under the YMS, or qualify for entry in another capacity.

Lastly, if you have previously spent time in the UK under the YMS or under the previous Working Holidaymaker Scheme you are not eligible to apply under this category.